Skip to main contentImpact Oregon | Careers that make a difference



Self-advocacy means that people with intellectual and developmental disabilities have the right to communicate for, and represent themselves in all areas of their lives. It means they have a say in every aspect of their lives.

BCBA certification

BCBA stands stands for Board Certified Behavior Analyst. Professionals certified at the BCBA level are independent practitioners who provide behavior analysis services.

Benefits Counseling Certificate

Both the Work Incentives Network (WIN) and the Work Incentives Planning and Assistance (WIPA) Program of Disability Rights Oregon offer Benefits Counseling Certification. Certified benefits counselors offer benefits and work incentives counseling services to people with disabilities who are receiving a public benefit such as Supplemental Security Income (SSI), Social Security Disability Income (SSDI), SNAP, HUD, Medicare, or Medicaid and are working or interested in working and have questions about how employment may impact their benefits.


Also known as Support Services Brokerages, these are private organizations providing case management and in-home and community-based services to adult Oregonians with intellectual and developmental disabilities (I/DD). Brokerages have been serving Oregon since 2001 and presently support nearly 8,000 people with I/DD in living independently in the community.

I/DD service systems

This includes contracted county (Community Developmental Disability Programs)or non-profit (Brokerage) case management entities who help connect people to services, service providers who help with community living including helping somone in their own home, a 24 hour residential home, or a foster care home, as well as employment providers that help people gain skills to get and keep a job. There are many other contractors who make up the service system, but these are just some examples.

ISP process

The Individual Support Plan, or ISP, is the written details of the supports, activities, and resources that a person with an intellectual or developmental disability, their Personal Agent or Services Coordinator, and other people of the individual’s choice agree are important to or for achieving and maintaining personal outcomes.

Intellectual and developmental disabilities

In Oregon for ODDS services, this includes people who have an Intellectual Quotient Score 75 or less with associated impairment in daily living skills, or a qualified developmental disability including, but not limited to, Autism, Cerebal Palsy or Down Syndrome with associated impairment in daily living skills. More can be found here:


Medicaid in the United States is a federal and state program that helps with medical costs for some people with limited income and resources. Medicaid also offers benefits not normally covered by Medicare, including nursing home care and personal care services.

Office of Developmental Disabilities Services (ODDS)

The Office of Developmental Disabilities Services is a program within the Oregon Department of Human Services. ODDS provides services and supports for adults and children with intellectual and developmental disabilities. The mission of ODDS is that ODDS, stakeholders, and the developmental disabilities community come together to provide services, supports, and advocacy to empower Oregonians with intellectual and developmental disabilities to live full lives in their communities.

Oregon Administrative Rules

​​Administrative Rules are created by most agencies and some boards and commissions to implement and interpret their statutory authority. Agencies may adopt, amend, repeal or renumber rules, permanently or temporarily.

Social Security Disability Insurance

SSDI is a payroll tax-funded federal insurance program of the United States government. It is managed by the Social Security Administration and designed to provide income supplements to people who are restricted in their ability to be employed because of a disability.

Stabilization and Crisis Unit (SACU)

SACU provides 24-hour residential care and supervision to people with intellectual/developmental disabilities who are in crisis and experiencing increased medical and/or behavioral needs. SACU operates 21 residential group homes along the I-5 corridor from Portland to Eugene. SACU provides residential care which includes health and medical care, behavioral support, personal care, recreation, community integration, and coordination of psychological services. For more information on the Stabilization and Crisis Unit, go to:

Supplemental Security Income

SSI a federal program that provides monthly payments to people who have limited income and few resources. SSI is for people who are 65 or older, as well as for those of any age who who have disabilities.

Trauma Based Supports

 Trauma Informed Care is an approach to care acknowledges that health care organizations and care teams need to have a complete picture of a person's life situation — past and present — in order to provide effective services and supports.